Bharat Ratna awards: Better late than never

RAJU RAMAMURTHY, Vasco | FEBRUARY 11, 2024, 11:54 PM IST

After conferring Bharat Ratna to veteran BJP leader L K Advani and social icon Karpoori Tripathi ex-CM of Bihar the government announced three more Bharat Ratna awards posthumously.

The three awardees are former PM Charan Singh, P V Narsimha Rao and agriculture scientist M S Swaminathan. All three have contributed to the nation in their respective fields. 

Swaminathan is known for Green Revolution and contribution towards agriculture sector in India with modern technology. Narsimha Rao has also made vital change in Indian economy for its growth and development. It was during Narsimha Rao’s time on December 6, 1992 that karsevaks marched towards Babri Masjid for the Ram temple. The PM had to take tough decision to maintain law and order situation. 

The government has lately but rightly chosen the five personalities for the highest award in this year. One cannot forget the role and contribution in country's economic development by all 5 awardees and truly deserve it.

Share this