Tuesday 13 Apr 2021

CMC elects Standing Committee, other panels

CMC elects Standing Committee, other panels

CMC Chairperson Simon Rebello chairs the first meeting of the Canacona Municipal Council.

Photo Credits: Kathy Fernandes


The Standing Committee and various other committees were formed at the first meeting of the Canacona Municipal Council (CMC) on Wednesday.

The meeting was chaired by CMC Chairperson Simon Rebello and all 12 councillors were present. CMC Chief Officer Udhay Prabhudesai could not attend the meeting as he was called for an urgent meeting with the chief minister in Panaji. The CMC Municipal Engineer Vinod Kudtarkar and the accountant represented the office.

The Standing Committee formed consists of Rebello (chairman), with CMC Vice Chairperson Amita Pagi, Sara Naik Dessai, Laxuman Pagui as members.

Health committee: Amita Pagi (chairperson) and Narcisco Fernandes, Sara Naik Dessai and Shubham Komarpant (members).

Market committee: Amita Pagi (chairperson) and Gandesh Madgaonkar, Narcisco Fernandes and Hemant Naikgaunkar (members).

Development, planning committee: Amita Pagi (chairperson) and Ramakant Naikgaunkar, Sara Naik Dessai and Gandesh Madgaonkar (members).

Seasonal shacks committee: Amita Pagi (chairperson) and Laxuman Pagui, Shubham Komarpant, Narcisco Fernandes (members).

Animal welfare committee: Amita Pagi (chairperson) and Hemant Naikgaunkar and Ramakant Naikgaunkar (members).

Garbage committee: Amita Pagi (chairperson) and Shubham Komarpant, Ramakant Naikgaunkar and Laxuman Pagui (members).

Waste management committee: Amita Pagi (chairperson) and Hemant Naikgaunkar, Ramakant Naikgaunkar (members).

Statutory committees on Road Safety and Child Development and Welfare were also formed, with the CMC chairperson appointed as chairman on both committees.

All 12 newly elected councillors later agreed to meet next on April 15, to discuss all other general issues.

Share this