Tuesday 18 Jun 2024

Curtorim Gym clinch Seamen Trophy

Curtorim Gym clinch Seamen Trophy

Curtorim Gymkhana players celebrate with the winners' trophy.

Photo Credits: The Goan

Curtorim Gymkhana lifted the 48th Chandor Seamen Trophy after beating host Chandor Club 7-5 via a tie-breaker, at Chandor Church ground.

In the 14th minute, Mackson found the net to give Curtorim the lead. The Chandor lads built up enough pressure on Curtorim looking out for an equaliser which seemed to evade them when a power-packed shot hit the crossbar and rebounded into the field to be cleared to safety Curtorim led 1- 0 at lemon break.

Crossing over, both teams seemed equal in all departments when a cross from the wings was capitalised by Alreach Peixoto who shot into Curtorim net in the 51st minute. A minute later, the celebration had hardly died down when Nalister Silveira found the net for Curtorim. However, the Chandor lads did not give up and finally, Vitorino placed a shot into the rival goal to make it 2-2.

In the resultant tie-breaker, Jovel Martins, Nickson Castanha, Marcus Fernandes, Aliston Fernandes and Joy Hilario were on target for the winners while Vitorino Fernandes, Valentino Carvalho and Sildon Peixoto found the net for Chandor.

The winners were awarded Rs 80,000. Melissa Alemao was the chief guest and gave away the trophy to the winners in the presence of GFA president Dr Caitano, Chandor parish priest Fr Jean Da Cruz Fernandes, Asst Director of Sports & Youth Affairs John A. Fernandes and other dignitaries.

Irwin Antao, John Fernandes, Domingos Piedade Fernandes and Joao Francis Peixoto (Fanchu) were felicitated for their contribution to the Society and to Football.

Individual awards: First scorer of the finals: Macson (Curtorim Gymkhana), Best defender of the finals: Cruz Gomes (Chandor Club), Best forward: Nalister Silveira (Curtorim Gymkhana), Best half of the finals: Sevraj D'Costa, Best goalkeeper of the finals: Alwyn Faria, Best player of the tournament: Vitorino Fernandes, Devoted player of Chandor Club: Alreach Peixoto, Man of the finals: Johnson Bhagat.

Share this