DBO Fatorda win Cana Benaulim Panchayat Cup

DBO Fatorda win Cana Benaulim Panchayat Cup

Don Bosco Oratory Fatorda beat giant killers Varca Sports Club 4-2 on penalties to win the 15th Cana Benaulim Panchayat Cup organised by United Club Benaulim at St John Baptist ground, Dando Benaulim.

Fatorda made the better start but Millson Fernandes shot wide from close range. Varca were content with defending and got their rhythm after the restart but Fatorda goalkeeper Karol Soares denied rival striker Jolan Fernandes with a fine save. At the other end, Mohamed Shaikh kept Varca in the match with a terrific save of Ashley Furtado in the last minute.

In the tiebreaker, Charlton Pereira, Milsson Fernandes, Ashley Furtado and Michael Furtado netted for DBO Fatorda while only Joelan Fernandes and Francis Fernandes scored for Varca. Former Salgaocar defender Mariano Dias was the chief guest and gave away the prizes in the presence of Sarpanch Xavier Pereira, Dy Sarpanch Glyda Fernandes and other Panchayat members.

Earlier, former women national footballers Fatima Rodrigues, Margarita Rodrigues along with Tanya Rebello (taekwondo champion), Kimron Fernandes (junior national footballer) and Ageema Rodrigues (footballer and athlete) were felicitated. The winners were awarded a cash prize of Rs 40,000 and a trophy while the runners-up had to settle for Rs 35,000 and a trophy.

Individual prizes: Best defender of the tournament - Columban Noronha (Varca SC), Best goalkeeper of the tournament - Soma Korgaonkar (Sai Avatar Anjuna), Best player of the tournament - Sunny Fernandes (St Anthony Assolda), Best disciplined team - St Anthony Marna Siolim, Best striker of finals - Milsson Furtado (DBO Fatorda), Best half of finals - Ashley Furtado (DBO), Best goalkeeper of finals - Mohammed Shaik (Varca SC), Best defender of finals - Charlton Periera (DBO), First goal of finals - Joelan Fernands (Varca SC), Man of the finals - Karren Soares (DBO).

Share this