Wednesday 28 Sep 2022

Rossman Cruz clinch Goa Tiger Cup

THE GOAN NETWORK | MAY 30, 2022, 11:44 PM IST
Rossman Cruz clinch Goa Tiger Cup

Rossman Cruz receive the winners' trophy.

Photo Credits: The Goan

Rossman Cruz, Nagoa-Verna got the better of Dunes SC, Mandrem 2-0 in the final of the first Goa Tiger Cup 2022 All-Goa inter-village football tournament, organised by Goa United Sports Academy, at Dr Gustavo Monteiro ground, Candolim on Monday.

The tournament was an initiative by Maharashtra Minister Aditya Thackeray, who has been re-elected as President of Mumbai Football Association (MFA).

Both teams went head-to-head right from the start in the highly anticipated clash of North and South Goa winners. After much probing, South Goa champions Rossman Cruz got the breakthrough in the 25th minute through Stephen Satarkar as he leaped the highest to head in the opener.

Dunes tried hard to claw their way back into the match but their hopes came crashing down when Sheldon Pereira inflated Rossman Cruz’s lead in the 55th minute. Rossman Cruz came up with short passes inside the box and Sheldon finished neatly.

The Man-of-the-Final award went to Romario Da Costa of Rossman Cruz and he was awarded his prize by Jessica Snock, who was the first runner-up at the Mrs India Earth 2019. The Goalkeeper of the Tournament award went to Hrushikesh Kinalekar of Dunes SC and Mario Aguiar handed over the trophy along with Rs 5,000. Rossman Cruz’s Stephen Satarkar was adjudged as the Player of the Tournament. Goa United SA president Fabian De Souza handed over the trophy to him along with Rs 5,000.

Runners-up of the South Goa, St Anthony’s SC, Assolda were handed over a trophy and Rs 30,000 by Johnny Fernandes. Runners-up of North Goa, Goa Velha SC were handed a trophy and Rs 30,000 by Gregory D’Souza.

Former India international Denzil Franco handed over the Goa Tiger Cup 2022 runners-up trophy to Dunes along with Rs 60,000. Dinesh Nair, Director of Association of Indian Football Coaches (AIFC), handed over the Goa Tiger Cup 2022 winner’s trophy and Rs 1 lakh to Rossman Cruz.

Share this