Tuesday 28 Sep 2021

Teacher awards for 2 academic years declared



The Directorate of Higher Education has declared the State Teacher Awards for Excellence in Higher Education for the academic years 2020-21 and 2021-22.

A committee under the chairmanship of Dr Mohan Sangodkar, former Registrar of Goa University, was constituted to recommend suitable candidates for State Teacher Award for Excellence in Higher Education. The Committee consisted of Dr Venkatesh V Kamat, former Professor at Goa University, Dr (Fr) Walter de Sa former Principal of St Xaviers College Mapusa and Dr Allan Abreu former Principal GVM’s Dada Vaidhya College of Education Ponda. Prasad Lolayekar, Director of Higher Education was the Member Secretary. 

The award consists of a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh, Memento and citation.

The recipients of the State Teacher Awards for Excellence in Higher Education for the Academic Year 2020-21 are Dr M K Janarthanam, Dr Pranab Mukhopadhyay, Dr Pravin M Bhende, Dr Vrinda Borkar, Dr Sushila Sawant Mendes. 

The recipients for the Academic year 2021-22 are Dr Kaustubh Priolkar, Dr Jyoti D Pawar, Dr F M Nadaf, Dr Sanjay P Sawant Dessai, Dr Dilecta D’Costa. 

Let’s have a look at the achievements of the 2020-21 winners. Dr M K Janarthanam is a Professor in the Department of Botany at Goa University. He has many publications in reputed indexed journals. He has also authored and co-authored books. He has been member of committees/ boards at State/National level. Dr Janarthanam has also undertaken research projects funded by DBT, MOEF. 

Dr Pranab Mukhopadhyay is a Professor of Economics at Goa University. He is a Fellow of the South Asian Network for Development & Environmental Economics (SANDEE), Kathmandu, and the Indian Society for Ecological Economics, INSEE. 

Dr Pravin M Bhende is the principal of GVM’s Gopal Govind Poy Raiturcal College of Commerce and Economics, Farmagudi. He has publications in various national and international research journals. Dr Bhende has been a member of various Committees of Goa University.

Dr Vrinda P Borker is the Principal of DCT’s Dhempe College of Arts and Science, Margao. She has published research papers in reputed national and international journals. Dr Borker has also won various awards and fellowships.

Dr Sushila Sawant Mendes is a Professor of History at Government College of Arts, Science and Commerce, Quepem. She was a member of various committees. Dr Mendes has publications in national and international journals.

Moving on to the awardees for the Academic year 2021-22, Dr Kaustubh RJ Priolkar is a Professor of Physics since 2014. He has won various awards and honours including Jawarhallal Nehru Foundation Prize. He has a vast amount of publications in reputed national and international journals. His areas of interest include Magneto-structural Transformations. 

Dr Jyoti D Pawar is a Professor of Computer Science and Technology at Goa Business School, Goa University and teaching for the last 30  years. She has a PhD from Goa University. She has many research publications to her credit in indexed journals.

Dr F M Nadaf is a Professor of Geography at DPM’s Shree Mallikarjun College, Canacona. He has held various positions including that of Officatinf Principal of the College. Dr Nadaf has research papers published in national and international reputed journals.

Dr Sanjay P S Dessai is the principal of CES College of Arts & Commerce, Cuncolim. He has research papers in various national and international journals. Dr Dessai is also a member of various boards and committees.

Dr Dilecta D’ Costa is working as Associate Professor of Microbiology, and HoD and PG Coordinator of Microbiology at Govt College of Arts, Science & Commerce, Khandola, Marcela. She has published several research papers in indexed journals.

Share this